Structure of Victorian and Commonwealth Parliament Flashcards Preview

Legal Studies 3/4 > Structure of Victorian and Commonwealth Parliament > Flashcards

Flashcards in Structure of Victorian and Commonwealth Parliament Deck (14)
Loading flashcards...

Westminister System:

2 houses of Parliament and a sovereign


Bicameral Parliament:

A parliament that consists of two houses


The Crown:

The monarch


Crown in Parliament:

Commonwealth: Governor-General
Victorian: Governor


Role of Crown:

Grants royal assent to legislation once a bill has successfully passed both houses.


Lower House in Parliament:

Commonwealth: House of Representatives
Victorian: Legislative Assembly


Role of Lower House:

Initiate and pass bills
Determine government
Represent the people


Determine the government means:

After an election, the political party with the majority of seats in the lower house forms government


Represent the people means:

Lower House members are elected by the people and should act on their behalf, therefore proposed laws should reflect the views and values of the majority of the community.


The Upper House in Parliament:

Commonwealth: The Senate
Victorian: Legislative Council


Roles of the Upper House:

Act as a 'House of Review'
Represent the states or regions
Initiate and pass bills


'House of Review' means:

As the majority of bills are initiated in the Lower House, the Upper House has the task to review these bills, and thus has the power to pass, reject or make amendments to bills, 'reviewing' them.


Represent the 'States' or 'Regions':

Each state should have equal representation in the Senate regardless of size or population, therefore in this way the Senate represents the interests of these states.


Initiate and pass bills (Upper House):

The Upper House is able to initiate Bills (other than money bills) or pass bills that have previously been passed through the lower house.

Decks in Legal Studies 3/4 Class (44):