Principles of the Australian Parliamentary System Flashcards Preview

Legal Studies 3/4 > Principles of the Australian Parliamentary System > Flashcards

Flashcards in Principles of the Australian Parliamentary System Deck (9)
Loading flashcards...

Representative Government:

A system under which government is carried on largely through elected representatives, and the government must represent the views of the majority of the people, otherwise they will be voted out.


Responsible Government:

Responsible government refers to the government's responsibility to the voters.


Responsible Government, 2:

Ministers are responsible to parliament and therefore the people. A minister can be called upon by parliament to explain his/her or his/her department's actions through question time. Poor actions or refusal to be transparent can force ministers to resign.


Separation of Powers:

The separation of powers refers to the separation of 3 powers that are exercised by different bodies.


3 Different powers:

1. Legislative
2. Executive
3. Judicial


Legislative Arm:

The power to create laws, exercised by Parliament


Executive Arm:

The power to administer the law, exercised in theory by the Governor-General, but in practise by the Prime Minister


Judicial Arm:

The power to enforce, apply and interpret the law, exercised by the courts


Need for a Separation of Powers:

A separation of powers is needed as a check and balance to each body, preventing any body to acquire unlimited authority.

Decks in Legal Studies 3/4 Class (44):