Psychology Flashcards Preview

Medical Assistant > Psychology > Flashcards

Flashcards in Psychology Deck (35)
Loading flashcards...

Hierarchy of Needs security of environment, employment, resources, health, property, etc.

Safety (fourth level)


Normal Developmental Patterns/Milestones -spontaneously smiles and laughs, babbles, reaches for toys and pushes legs down when held in standing position

4 Months


when a person redirects energy they once might have put into a negative activity or impulse into something more positive and productive Ex: someone who may have the impulse to cheat on their partner may not actually want to and therefore focuses their energy into exercise/meditation



Normal Developmental Patterns/Milestones -exhibits fear of strangers, understands the word "no", plays peek-a-boo and gets into sitting position and sits without support

9 Months


Kugler-Ross Stages of Grief -after reality has set in, the person is filled with anger at the situation, feeling helpless



Normal Developmental Patterns/Milestones -shows concern for crying friend, follows two or three step instructions, does 3-4 piece puzzles, runs easily and climbs

3 Years


Normal Developmental Patterns/Milestones -recognizes familiar faces, makes consonant sounds, puts objects in mouth and rolls over both ways

6 Months


Hierarchy of Needs morality, creativity, problem solving, etc.

Self-Actualization (highest level)


Erikson -child works through autonomy vs. shame -parents must guide children through attempts at being independent and the child will develop will -improper care causes the child to develop shame

Ages 2-3


Kugler-Ross Stages of Grief -the final stage, which not everyone reaches; allows moving on with a positive prospective



Erikson -child in this stage must grapple with the crisis of identity vs. role confusion -if identity crises are navigated successfully, the person develops fidelity (the ability to have relationships with many different people of different values -failure to resolve identity crises results in identity diffusion and role confusion or failure to "fit in"; may manifest into fanaticism

Ages 13-19


involves a person trying to right a wrong they have done to someone they care about Ex: saying something hurtful to someone and then offering to take them out for ice cream



Erikson -this stage defined by industry vs. inferiority -involves the capability to learn, create and build skills and knowledge -imagination and impulsive behavior must be tamed to develop competence or child develops inferiority

Ages 6-12


Hierarchy of Needs confidence, achievement, respect, etc.

Self-Esteem (second level)


Erikson -development of trust vs. mistrust based off the nurture received from parents -hope is the proper product of proper nurture and trust otherwise mistrust, insecurity and feeling of worthlessness may develop

Birth-18 Months


Erikson -child will go through the initiative vs. guilt stage of development -involves a modeling behavior of adults and requires support from them to help the child develop purpose or the child will feel guilt

Ages 4-5


Kugler-Ross Stages of Grief -after bargaining has failed, the person becomes depressed, feeling hopeless, lacking motivation and lacking interest in any sort of positive, healing activities



Normal Developmental Patterns/Milestones -has temper tantrums, points to objects they want, says single words, understands functions of basic objects and carries toys while walking

18 Months


Normal Developmental Patterns/Milestones -mimics friends, enjoys singing, dancing and acting, speaks more clearly, counts to ten or higher, stands on one foot for 10 seconds or longer

5 Years


Hierarchy of Needs love, friendship, intimacy, family, etc.

Belonging (third level)


Normal Developmental Patterns/Milestones -copies the behavior of others, knows names of familiar body parts, begins sorting colors and shapes, kicks a ball

2 Years


Erikson -works through crisis of intimacy vs. isolation in which close relationships and love are developed -failure to form those relationships results in isolation and person becomes either promiscuous (too intimate, too quickly with many people but no love develops) or exclusive (person rejects all relationships)

Ages 20-24


Erikson -person goes through crisis of generativity vs. stagnation -generativity allows a person to feel satisfied in the work they have completed in their lifetime; may feel successful having developed a legacy they are proud of; generates virtue of caring for future generations -if generativity has not occurred, person will feel stagnant marked by little contribution to society, meaninglessness and potentially a midlife crisis

Ages 25-64


Normal Developmental Patterns/Milestones -enjoys group play and storytelling, names colors and numbers and stands on one foot for up to 2 seconds

4 Years


Hierarchy of Needs air, food, water, sex, sleep and other factors toward homeostasis, etc.

Physiological (bottom level)


Normal Developmental Patterns/Milestones -begins to smile, use hand sucking to self-soothe, looks at parents, makes cooing noises, notes faces, becomes fussy when bored, holds head up while on tummy

2 Months


when a person rejects a reality to protect themselves from having to process it emotionally Ex: a diagnosis of a terminal illeness



the study of a human's behavior and its relation to their place on the spectrum of growth and development; understanding of this is essential for CMA's in order to provide competent care to each individual patient



-often represented in a hierarchical pyramid with 5 levels -4 lower levels are considered physiological needs and the top level is considered growth needs -lower level needs must be satisfied before higher-order needs can influence behavior - can be used to understand what motivates a patient's actions and behavior

Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs


5 stages developed by psychiatrist Elisabeth Kubler-Ross in which mourners ultimately accept the reality of their imminent death; can also apply to family members dealing with a loss 1. Denial 2. Anger 3. Bargaining 4. Depression 5. Acceptance

Stages of Grief